Whether you have gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, you know how disastrous it is if you consume products that have gluten in it. While some food products state that they contain gluten, some don’t. They use other names that can easily confuse consumers and trick them into buying the product. To help you truly eliminate gluten from your diet, here are the sources of gluten you should avoid:

Gluten is everywhere, check the list of food items where they could be hiding in plain sight / PicHelp


1. Artificial Color – Artificial coloring, also called food coloring, may contain gluten. If you have celiac disease, you should avoid caramel coloring in particular.

2. Baking Powder – There are baking powder products made from wheat starch, which contain gluten.

3. Caramel Flavoring – The same way that you should avoid caramel coloring, caramel flavoring may contain gluten as well.

4. Citric Acid – Avoid foods that are labeled to have citric acid, since they may be fermented from wheat and other sources of gluten.

5. Coloring – Even if it is not caramel coloring, you should still beware of the product.

6. Defatted Wheat Germ – Since there is the name “wheat,” you already know this is not gluten-free.

7. Dextrimaltose – Wheat and barley may be used as ingredients, so beware of drugs that contain this ingredient.

8. Dextrins – There are wheat-based dextrins, which of course, contain gluten.

9. Emulsifiers – Although there is no sufficient evidence that emulsifiers have gluten, many people with celiac disease avoid them as they contain soy lecithin.

10. Enzymes – Some enzymes use barley, which contain gluten.

11. Fat replacers – Several fat replacers come from protein sources, including wheat gluten, which as the name suggests, contain gluten itself.

12. Flavorings – As much as possible, avoid products that have artificial flavors.

13. Food starch – Also known as hydrolyzed vegetable protein, avoid food products that contain this ingredient.

14. Glucose syrup – Some products with glucose syrup are derived from wheat. However, experts say you don’t have to avoid this, although there is still not much evidence to it.

15. Glycerides – To be on the safe side, avoid products that contain glycerides, both mono and diglycerides.

16. Maltodextrin – This is derived from malt, which contains gluten.

17. Modified food starch – Unless it states that it is not made from wheat, avoid eating foods that contain modified starch.

18. Natural juices – While natural fruit juices are generally made from real fruit, there are exceptions where manufacturers use a bit of grains in the ingredients. Make sure you check the label before consuming.

19. Stabilizers – These are proven to contain gluten, which is not approved for people with celiac disease.

20. Starch – Starches, whether those found in food products or non-food items, may contain gluten.

21. Wheat starch – If you have celiac disease, don’t consume wheat starch as much as possible.

Going gluten-free may not be easy, especially since there are products that hide the identity of gluten in their list of ingredients. Bear the above mentioned names in mind when shopping for items to get rid of gluten in your life.