Osteoarthritis is a joint disease that normally occurs in older people. Symptoms include swelling, disfigured cartilage, loss of motion, and abnormal bone growth.

Most patients feel pain in the knee, hips, fingers, toes, back, and neck which are the most common affected parts of the body. If you’re suffering from osteoarthritis, a good way to fight the degenerative disease and prevent the onset of symptoms is through the use of gelatin.

But What is Gelatin and Where Does It Come From?

Gelatin is naturally clear and flavorless. The food product is made from collagen that comes from bones, skins, tissues, and hooves of animals. Gelatin is used in several foods, including gummy candies, jellied desserts, marshmallows, and in some yogurts as well. Some brands use gelatin in their cosmetics, papers, and capsule pills. You can buy gelatin as granules or a clear sheet.

It’s Backed by Science

The American Academy of Family Physicians, Dallas, Texas reported during a meeting that adding gelatin to your diet can help people who have mild osteoarthritis of the knees. About 175 patients were given either a placebo or a gelatin supplement. The group that took the supplement had significant improvements on pain, mobility, and stiffness.

Gelatin for OsteoarthritisIt is important to note though that the study also made sure that the patients consumed a healthy diet especially rich in vitamin C. So the researchers recommend that if you’re going to add gelatin to your osteoarthritis treatment, you may also want to up your vitamin C consumption. Just 60 mg of the vitamin (which is equivalent to one orange) is enough to obtain the protective effect. You can also eat more citrus fruits and berries, which are rich in the vitamin as well.

Gelatin for Your Osteoarthritis

If you’re going to try taking gelatin to treat your osteoarthritis, here are some suggestions on how to do so:

  1. As A Supplement: This is a good choice if you’re one of those who don’t want to prepare gelatin. You can find gelatin in pill form readily available in many health food shops and you only need to take them as directed.
  2. In Food: If you don’t want the gelatin in pill form, you can prepare gelatin on your own. Just follow the instructions found on the packet. Make sure you choose the sugar-free version.

For vegetarians and those who avoid eating meat-related products for personal reasons, there are substitutes for vegetarian gelatin. However, they may still require trials and additional information. There are also fish gelatin substitutes for those who don’t want to eat meat, but are fine with other animal products.